About Us

Our History

In 1909, the Garvin family opened Island Funeral Service and began serving the residents of Vashon Island. Their family continued serving the community until 1966 when Frank and June Harris purchased the funeral home. Frank and June built the current funeral home building in 1969. Ten years later, in 1979, Tim & Sue Wilcoxen moved to Vashon Island and became both owners of Island Funeral Service and active members of the community. Upon, their retirement in 1997, the Wilcoxen's selected brothers, Russ and Doug Weeks, to continue their tradition of caring and commitment to the families of Vashon Island. Whether death occurs on-island or off-island, we continue to serve the familes of Vashon and Maury Island with the utmost dignity and respect, considering each one an honor and a sacred trust, while keeping in mind the unique character and traditions of life on the Island. 

In this section

About Us

Our Staff

Our Facilities

Contact Us

Privacy Policy

© 2017 Island Funeral Service. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS